Pecan Bites

November 4, 2008

Chris requested I post this one.  I think that means he really likes them.  They are very sweet so be warned. If you like super sweet, you will love these.

Pecan Bites

3 Egg Whites

3 Cups Light Brown Sugar

3 Cups Chopped Pecans

1/4 tsp Salt

1 tsp Vanilla

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  * Must use parchment paper or you will not get them off.  

Beat egg whites to soft peaks.  Stir in the rest of the ingredients.  Drop by scant tablespoonfuls onto prepared cookie sheets. (I used a small scoop.  I would say the smaller the better.)   Bake for 20 minutes.  Makes approximately 6 dozen cookies.

3 Responses to “Pecan Bites”

  1. Mary Says:

    Hi,

    I somehow stumbled upon your blog of recipes. My husband was diagnosed with AS a few years ago. We just now are finding out about diet changes that we can make to help manage pain. But I have NO idea what to cook! I am swedish, he is irish…we live on bread and potatoes. 🙂

    What resources have helped you guys along this journey? All the diets I see are different and I just don’t know which to go with.

    • sherribarron Says:

      Hi. I’m glad you found the blog. I wish I were more diligent about updating it. I’ll try to work on that. I think that very few people understand how extreme AS is for people. My husband is Scotch/Irish. We do believe there is a correlation between fair skinned people and their pain threshold being much lower than those of us with more olive skin.

      To be quite honest, my husband has done the most research on AS and I have simply tried to follow the guidelines he has given me for cooking. He does take diclofenac everyday. As much as he would like to not take medications, he hasn’t gone to the extreme of testing every food he eats with iodine as Carol Sinclair encourages. This is the book that Chris has gotten most of his information regarding low starch dieting. The link is here: http://www.lowstarchdiet.net/index.html The other resource he uses is the KickAS website/forum where he has found some great information. The link for that is: http://www.kickas.org/. I would recommend you read the book and spend some time on the forums at KickAS.

      We both try to be very diligent about reading ingredients on packages. If it says starch or any form of starch on the package we avoid it completely. The same is try for soy. Chris basically eats meats and vegetables (low starch ones). For breakfast he eats organic yogurt that doesn’t contain any starch (Stoneyfield Farm here) with fruit and walnuts. For lunch he eats leftovers from the night before. It’s just easier that way. He does eat carrots which are a starch vegetable but not as starchy as others. If you go to the KickAS website you will find food lists there and their starch content. Here is the link for that: http://www.kickas.org/ubbthreads/showthreaded.php?Cat=0&Number=146875&an=0&page=0 You will basically need to stay as low starch as possible and see what works best for him.

      I do try to feed our family the same as he eats with the exception of cereal that the boys indulge in and an occasional loaf of bread or tortillas. Chris is very good about avoiding the foods that cause fair-ups. He is probably not as strict as he could be but he is so much better off than he was a year and a half ago when he started eating low-starch. Good luck & God bless!

  2. Margaret Says:

    Thank you so much for your website! I am looking forward to trying out the recipes you’ve suggested. I have had AS for 10 years now, but only have found out about the NSD last month! I am going to try following it, to see what happens. Looking forward to watching your blog. Best wishes.


Leave a Reply

